The Big Question: Creme Versus Powder–Eyeshadows, Blushes, and more!

There are a lot of big questions in make up these days, but one of the biggest ones I encounter is whether to use creme or powder formulations for things such as eyeshadows, blushes, and eyeliners.  In order to answer this question, I’m going to break down the pros and cons of each and these three categories, and then come to a conclusion on which I personally prefer.  Obviously, there is no one forcing you to take my word for it.  As always, you should definitely try each out for yourself and make a decision for your own use.

This will be the first of three parts, one on Eyeshadows (this one), Blushes, and Eyeliners.

Eyeshadows–

Creme (Maybelline Color Tattoos, ELF Smudge Pots, etc…)

Pros: I really like cream pots for two reasons: they’re a quick swipe on when you need a little color on your lids, and they’re very blendable.  When I need a quick little shimmer or color on my lids, I hardly ever grab for a powder eyeshadow because I have the PERFECT creme one.  The one I reach for the most is the ELF Smudge Pot in Ain’t That Sweet, which retails for $3 USD and lasts FOREVER.  Whenever I’m in a hurry, I swipe a little bit on each lid and have the perfect amount of champagne shimmer for the day.  I also have these pots in Cruisin’ Chic and Brownie Points, a gold and a bronze respectively, that are beautiful and perfect if I am wanting a little bit more color on my lids.  Creme eyeshadows are also very blendable.  I tend to blend Brownie points out when I use it to diffuse the strong color and it has never given me any problems.  It blends nicely into other shadows and especially through the delicate crease area.  Creme pots, especially these, are a definite bargain for how much you get out of them and how easy they are to apply.

Cons: My major con with these is that they often have a sticky consistency.  Much like when you apply mascara or eyeliner and don’t wait for it to dry, these have the tendency to get all over if you’re not careful.  Once you apply them to your lid, you MUST wait for them to dry and adhere properly, otherwise you’re in for a shimmery, sparkly mess where you don’t want one, and especially if you’re using it in a rush, it can often take way more time than it’s worth.

Powder (Naked Palettes, any of your “normal” eyeshadows…)

Pros: Powder eyeshadow is everyone’s go-to, and I admit, it’s mine too.  You all know I wouldn’t be able to function without my Naked3 palette.  I reach for this almost every single day.  The best part about powder eyeshadows is that there are a variety of ways you can use them.  Brush them over the eyelid and through the crease, wet a brush and make an eyeliner, or even pat some in the middle of your lips to accentuate a lip look, powder shadows are incredibly diverse and totally accessible.  This is the formulation of nearly every eye shadow out there.  It’s easy to get access to and comes with applicators or brushes in some of the more expensive palettes.  For your money, these will be the best shadows and come in way more shades than creme eye shadows often do.  If you’re looking for non-neutral shades, powder formulations are the way to go.

Cons: Two of my biggest complaints about powder shadows are pigmentation and fallout.  In terms of pigmentation, you have to search very hard to find a bright shadow with enough color payoff to be worth it.  When you find it, you often still have to pack a lot on before you get even close to the color in the pan.  I personally stick to nude shadows, so this isn’t as big of a problem, but if you want shadows that pack a log of punch, color-wise, you’re going to have to use a lot of primer and find a great formulation. My second complaint is fallout.  I haven’t been able to find a primer I really like for eyeshadow, so I end up putting it on with no primer or a little foundation or concealer on my lids.  Often this leads to fallout, or sparkly powder finding its way to my cheek bones without my permission.  This is often a big problem with powder eyeshadow of all varieties.  I’ve heard a lot of complaints about fallout, even from some of the more expensive palettes like Urban Decay’s Vice3.  I don’t know how to fix this problem, but it’s one I perpetually have and a big complaint about powder shadows.

CONCLUSION

Powder eyeshadow formulations.

Why?  They are easy to get and come in way more variety than creme formulations do.  Even though there are issues such as pigmentation and fallout, I still end up reaching for powder formulations (mainly my Naked3 palette) more than any other eyeshadow in my collection.

Leave a comment