How To: My First Day of the Semester Look

IMG_3690

It was so cold today, but I decided to do a full face, so here is a listed tutorial on how to do my First Day of the Semester look.

1. Start with primer, my favorite once again, is the ELF Mineral Infused primer.  Smooth that all over your face for a good base.

2. Spread foundation and blend well.  This may take some time, but to ensure the smooth look you want, it’s worth it.  Pay special attention to blending around the nose, in the T-zone, and under the chin.

3. Fill in eyebrows.  For a strong, natural-looking brow, use short strokes with a pencil to create a strong effect and still look natural.  I recommend the Sephora Retractable Brow Pencil for this, as it comes with a little eyebrow comb on the end for maximum blending.

4. Next is eyeshadow.  I used my Naked 3 palette for my eyes, as I’m still trying to create new looks with it.  I brushed the color Factory (a darker taupe with pinky glitter) all over my lid, blending it with Mugshot (a darker taupe) through the crease, and finished with Dust (a glittery pink) in my inner corner down a bit under the lash line.

5. Line the eyes with a black eyeliner on top and smudge out.  Eyeliner looking too perfect doesn’t fit the look as well as a “lived-in” liner look.  I used Sephora waterproof eyeliner in 01 Black.  On my waterline, I used the NYX WonderPencil to make my eyes look larger and brighter.

6. Mascara!  I used Maybelline Volum Express The Rocket Mascara in black, taking it as close to the root of my lashes as possible and wiggling it out for a full lash effect.  I’ve given up on my bottom lashes, so I leave those alone.

7. Next I took NARS Laguna Bronzer on my cheeks in the line created when you suck in your cheeks like a fish and blended it up into the top of my forehead.

8. I used my favorite winter blush, ELF Essential Blush in Pink Passion, on the apples of my cheeks for the just-in-from-the-cold look to my cheeks for an added rosy glow.

9. On my lips, I used Rimmel Kate Moss Longwear Lipstick in 104, a perfect dupe for MAC Snob.  I swiped it over my lips, paying attention to my cupids bow area, as I didn’t have time to line my lips.  Blot your lips with a tissue to get the excess off by putting a folded tissue between your lips and pressing down.

10. I sealed my whole look with my favorite finishing powder, ELF Studio HD Powder, applied all over my face with one of their total face brushes from the studio line.  This makes skin look soft and natural while preserving the hard work you put into your makeup.

I hope you enjoyed!  Have fun trying this look not only for class, but work or going out as well!

Leave a comment