My Favorite Christmas Present

naked3

For Christmas, I received a gift card to pick out a Naked palette from Sephora.  I already have a lot of gold-and-brown toned neutrals, so I wanted to go for something I haven’t worn in a bit: pinky nudes.  The Naked 3 palette, which costs $54 USD, is a palette of 12 eyeshadows from Urban Decay and a brush you can only get with the Naked 3 palette.  Dividing it just amongst the eyeshadows, that’s about $4.50 per shadow for a HIGH QUALITY shadow.  In each package, you also get four weeks worth of Urban Decay’s primer in a variety of shades and formulas.

I haven’t used it too much since I got it, but it is by far one of the best products I’ve ever owned.  The shadows are a range of very light pinks to a dark shadow with red microsparkle.  they are really versatile and can be worn for every occasion.  So far I’ve used it to do my sister’s makeup for a Christmas party she was going to with her boyfriend and used it to do my own makeup for lunch out with one of longtime friends.  Right after those two occasions I had oral surgery, so I haven’t been able to get full use out of it yet, but I assure you, with just those two applications, I’m sold on spending that much money on eyeshadow.

The consistency is fantastic on these.  A common complaint with UD eyeshadows is fallout, which I experienced with some samples of shadow I got and my limited use of a friend’s Vice 3 palette.  Naked 3 does not have that problem, however, but stays put with just a dab of primer on the eyelids.  When applied, it goes on really smooth and not at all cakey like some other eyeshadows might.  Overall, the consistency of the shadows themselves really wow me and I can’t wait to use it more on a daily basis.

Not only is the consistency amazing, but the pigmentation of the color is phenomenal as well.  The light colors make beautiful highlighters in the corner of the eyes and on the brow bone, and the darker colors make amazing accents in the crease of the eye and even as a soft and subtle powder eyeliner.  The colors accent blue eyes like mine but work well with a vast variety of skin tones and eye colors.  Their pigmentation is impressive and if nothing else will, the richness in color should definitely sell you on this palette.

This is by far one of my favorite palettes I’ve ever owned, and I love every color in it.  It goes really well with a lot of the lipsticks I own and is a very versatile palette.  There are countless tutorials on pinterest, tumblr, and other sites on how to work best with this palette if you’re just beginning, but you will soon learn that this palette can do anything!  I’ve had a lot of fun experimenting with my own color combinations and I’m excited to try some more!

One thought on “My Favorite Christmas Present

  1. Pingback: My 2015 Wishlist | Beauty University

Leave a comment